Bishop-elect Jack Lumanog on Archbishop Thomas Cranmer

Thomas Cranmer, Archbishop and Martyr

Thomas Cranmer was one of the leaders of the English Reformation and was primarily responsible for the first Book of Common Prayers, 1549 and 1552.

During the reign of Edward VI, Cranmer was able to make great progress in reforming the doctrine, and practice of the Church. When Edward died he subscribed to the dying King’s will that succession should go to Lady Jane Grey. For this action and for his many reforms, he was arrested and imprisoned.

Cranmer wrote two recantations but in the end he denied his recantations, and died a hero of the reformation, saying, “Forasmuch as my hand offended in writing contrary to my heart, there my hand shall first be punished; for if I may come to the fire, it shall first be burned.” He was burned at the stake on 21 March 1556.

Merciful God, who through the work of Thomas Cranmer didst renew the worship of thy Church by restoring the language of the people, and through whose death didst reveal thy power in human weakness: Grant that by thy grace we may always worship thee in spirit and in truth; through Jesus Christ, our only Mediator and Advocate, who liveth and reigneth with thee and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

The Right Rev. Dr. Jon I “Jack” Lumanog
Bishop of The Anglican Diocese of St. Ignatius Loyola

The Right Rev. Dr. Jon I “Jack” Lumanog is an Anglican Bishop in good standing with the Apostolic Communion of Anglican Churches and the leader of The Anglican Diocese of St. Ignatius Loyola. A pastor and evangelist at heart, Dr. Jack Lumanog has planted, revitalized and pastored churches, traveled internationally to teach pastors and church planters and was a denominational leader for 7 years with executive level oversight for over 1,000 congregations in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Additionally, Bishop Lumanog is an Associate Member of The Anglican Union for the Propagation of the Gospel, an international confraternity of oratories, which is under the patronage of seven bishops from the worldwide Anglican Communion.